2006 Skl International Ecotourism Awards

No comments
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars

Skl International is inviting companies from the public and private sector as well as NGOs to submit entries for the Ecotourism Awards.
In its fifth year, the programme is sponsored by Evian Waters and Iznik Foundation. The 2006 Awards will be presented in Pattaya, Thailand on 16 October 2006 during the Opening Ceremony of the 67th Skl World Congress by the President of Skl International, Jan Sunde.
Skl, founded as an international association in 1934 is the largest organization of travel and tourism professionals in the world, embracing all sectors of the tourism industry from hoteliers to travel agents, to airlines, tourism media, tourism students and similar. Skl, with 22,000 members is active in 90 countries and in almost 500 locations worldwide.
Skl International is an Affiliate Member of the World Tourism Organization whose mission is to promote the development of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism. Skl International in line with this vision, following the United Nations declaration of 2002 as the Year of Ecotourism and the Mountains, launched the Ecotourism Awards in the same year and first awards were presented during the World Congress in Cairns in 2002.
Skl, as an international organization of the industry leaders, is a powerful force in the travel and tourism industry to initiate change and encourage the conservation of the environment in order to promote tourism and travel. The awards presented on these grounds, while highlighting best practices in tourism around the world, also serve the purpose of acquainting the world with this new concept that puts emphasis on the importance of the interaction of the physical, cultural and social environment the travelers responsibility and the need for active community participation for Ecotourism.
Skl values sustainable development in Tourism as the key to the industrys future success and considers Ecotourism but one area of the various components of sustainable development.

Awards are presented in six different categories:

  1. Tour Operators Travel Agents
  2. Accommodation providers of any size and category in:
    • 2.1 urban areas
    • 2.2 rural areas
  3. Transportation
  4. General Countryside (Alpine Tourism, Underwater Projects, Beaches, Theme Parks, Scenic Mountains, Rivers, Lakes)
  5. CitiesVillages (Community and Government Projects)
  6. Educational Programmes Media

The primary criteria for the evaluation is based on such points like, contribution to the conservation of nature and cultural heritage, community involvement, educational features, business viability and innovation.

The evaluation of the entries is made by three independent judges from important Institutions/Organisations dealing with Eco and Sustainable tourism. The names of previous years judges can be found on the Skl website www.skal.org  go to Ecotourism

The names of the judges for each year are only announced during the Awards ceremony which takes place at the Skl International Annual Congresses attended by members from all around the world and dignitaries from the host country. In 2006 the Award presentation ceremony will take place in Pattaya, Thailand at the Royal Cliff Beach Resort on 16 October 2006 during the 67th Skl World Congress.

The deadline to send in the entries is 30 June, 2006

More details and an entry form can be found at www.skal.org  (go to ecotourism) or http://www.skal.org/html/ecotourism/eco.asp?idioma=I .

Leave a Reply